About our club

A proud history and exciting future

Welcome to Cosburn Park Lawn Bowling Club

In 1929, a small group living near Cosburn and Coxwell Avenues organized what has now become Cosburn Park Lawn Bowling Club, under the sponsorship of the East York Township Council. Originally, the women’s and men’s groups operated separately. The first female president was Mrs. Grant Jack, while the men’s group functioned under Reeve R.M. Leslie. The first annual pre-season dinner and dance was held at R.H. McGregor School, on Coxwell at Sammon, on May 19, 1930.

By 1935, there were fourteen female members and a somewhat larger male membership. The original clubhouse—actually a shed, with no heating or other facilities—was on the same site as the current clubhouse.

The shed didn’t last long. In 1937, a new clubhouse was built by the members, using materials scrounged from various people. In 1952, the women held a bazaar in the fall and regular euchre games during the winter, raising $1,250 (the equivalent of about $12,000 today). This money paid for the verandah. In 1971, the Borough of East York renovated the present building to create the clubhouse we have today.

The total membership of the club in 1939 was 63. By 1948, it had grown to 115; by 1978, the membership rose to 256.

Cosburn Park Lawn Bowling Club is currently in our tenth decade, and we have about 250 members of different ages, backgrounds, interests, and talents. The club is growing in numbers again, and there’s a spirit of optimism and enthusiasm that’s catching. We hope you’ll join us too.



Board of Directors

Board Executive

Kevin Boyce

Kevin Boyce


Lori Brendel


Doug Moore

Doug Moore


Burke Christian

Burke Christian


Margaret Clayton

Social Chair

Adrian Taylor

Adrian Taylor

Tournaments Chair

Scott Eckford

Scott Eckford

Games Chair

Nigel Clayton

Special Events Chair

Chester Cengarle

Premises Chair

Avery Pitcher

Sponsorship & Development Chair

Amanda Lee

Amanda Lee

Communications Chair